RP-457-1ns (9/08)

NYS BOARD OF REAL PROPERTY SERVICES

INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATION FOR
REAL PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION FOR
FIRST-TIME HOMEBUYERS OF NEWLY CONSTRUCTED HOMES
(Real Property Tax Law, Section 457)

AUTHORIZATION FOR EXEMPTION:

Section 457 of the Real Property Tax Law authorizes a partial exemption from real
property taxation for “newly constructed homes” purchased by “first-time homebuyers.”
Counties, cities, towns and villages may hold public hearings and then adopt local laws granting
the exemption. School districts, other than those in the cities of New York, Buffalo, Rochester,
Syracuse and Yonkers, have the option to hold hearings and pass resolutions providing that the
exemption applies to school taxes.

ELIGIBILITY FOR EXEMPTION:

For purposes of this exemption, a “first-time homebuyer” is any person who has not
owned -- and whose spouse has not owned -- a primary residential property during the previous
three years, and who does not own a vacation or investment home. A qualifying “newly
constructed home” is a one- or two-family residence, townhouse or condominium, which was
constructed after November 28, 2001, is owner-occupied, and was not previously occupied. The
exemption also applies to a renovation or remodeling of an existing home purchased by a first-
time homebuyer, provided the renovation or remodeling costs exceed $3,000 and the contract for
the work is contracted for within 90 days from the date of purchase.

Eligibility for the exemption also depends, in part, on the homebuyer's income and the
purchase price of the home. The “household income” (defined as the total combined incomes of
all of the owners and their resident spouses) may not exceed the income limits established by the
State of New York Mortgage Agency (SONYMA) and in effect on the contract date for the
purchase and sale of the property for its low interest mortgage program in its non-target, one and
two person household category for the county where the property is located. The purchase price
of the home is similarly limited, with two exceptions: (1) municipalities opting into the program
may increase the purchase price limit by up to 25 percent, and (2) where the purchase price
exceeds the applicable limit by 15 percent or less, the exemption may be granted as if the
purchase price equaled the applicable limit (but otherwise no exemption may be granted). The
applicable SONYMA limits are available on that agency’s Internet website (www.nyhomes.org).
SONYMA may also be contacted at 641 Lexington Avenue, New York, New York 10022 or by
telephone (toll free) at 1-800-382-4663.

“Income” for purposes of this exemption is defined as the “adjusted gross income” for
Federal income tax purposes as reported on the applicant’s latest available Federal or State
income tax return, subject to any subsequent amendments or revisions, reduced by any taxable
amounts of distributions from individual retirement accounts or individual retirement annuities
("IRAS"). A copy of the income tax return(s) must be filed with the application.
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SCOPE AND DURATION OF EXEMPTION:

The exemption, if authorized, lasts for a maximum term of five years, beginning at fifty
percent in the first year and declining to ten percent in the fifth and final year. A municipality
that opts in to the program may also opt to grant the exemption for a shorter term. Where it is
adopted, the exemption applies to taxes and special ad valorem levies; the exemption does not
apply to special assessments. The exemption applies only to homes purchased or contracted for
before December 31, 2010.

FILING APPLICATION:

Application should be filed with the city or town assessor. Application for exemption
from village taxes in villages should be filed with the assessor who prepares the assessment roll
used in levying village taxes. In Nassau County, application for exemption from county, town or
school district taxes should be filed with Nassau County Board of Assessors. In Tompkins
County, application for exemption from county, city, town, village or school district taxes should
be filed with the Tompkins County Division of Assessment.

TIME OF FILING APPLICATION:

The application must be filed in the assessor’s office on or before the appropriate taxable
status date. In towns preparing their assessment roll in accordance with the schedule provided by
the Real Property Tax Law, the taxable status is March 1. In towns in Nassau County, the
taxable status date is January 2. Westchester County towns have either a May 1 or June 1
taxable status date; contact the assessor. In villages and cities, the taxable status dates vary, and
the appropriate assessor should be consulted for the correct date.

Once the exemption has been granted, it is not necessary to reapply for the exemption
after the initial year in order for the exemption to continue. There is no need to reapply in
subsequent years, but, if the property ceases to be used primarily for residential purposes, or if
the property is a single-family residence and any portion is leased, or if title to the property is
transferred to persons other than the heirs or distributees of the owner, the exemption is
terminated.
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New York State Board of Real Property Services
APPLICATION FOR REAL PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION FOR
FIRST-TIME HOMEBUYERS OF NEWLY CONSTRUCTED HOMES
(Real Property Tax Law, Section 457)

(Instructions for competing this form are contained in Form RP-457-1ns)

1. Name(s) and telephone no(s). of owner(s) 2. Mailing address of owner(s)

Day No. ()

Evening No. ()

3. Location of property (seeinstructions)

Street address School District

City/Town Village (if any)
Property identification (see tax bill or assessment roll)

Tax map no. or section/block/Iot

4.a. Property isa (i) __ onefamily house (ii) __ two-family house (iii) __ townhouse or
(iv) __condominium. (check one)

b. If property is other than a two-family house, isany portion leased? _ yesor __ no

5. Property is newly constructed primary residential property having a purchase price of
$ which has never been occupied (attach purchase contract and certificate
of occupancy or other proof of completion); or
____Property is primary residential property which has been altered, improved or reconstructed
atacost of $ (attach description of improvements, written dated contract, and
certificate of occupancy or other proof of completion).

6. Isthe property owner occupied as the primary residence of the homebuyer?  yesor _ no
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7. a. Has the homebuyer or homebuyer’'s spouse owned a primary residential property within the
three-year period preceding the date of purchase of the residence for which exemption is
sought? _ yesor ___ no

b. Most recent previous address of homebuyer and homebuyer’ s spouse (if different):

8. Does the homebuyer or homebuyer’s spouse own a vacation or investment home? __ yesor __no

9. Total combined income of all owners and of any owners spouses residing on the premises
$ (seeinstructions; attach copy of Federal or State income tax return)

Certification

I/We hereby certify that the
information on this application and any accompanying papers constitute a true statement of fact.

Signature(s) of owner(s) Date

FOR ASSESSOR’SUSE

Date application filed:

Applicable taxable status date:

____Application approved for __ Town/City, _ County, _ Village, __ School District purpose(s)
____Application disapproved

Assessed value of exemption granted: $

First assessment roll on which exemption is to be granted:

Last assessment roll on which exemption is to be granted:

Assessor’ s signature Date



